Who is Sandra Bland? Im officially a Hollywood Producer now!

Screen Shot 2015-07-16 at 11.45.14 PM

I used to believe America was a lace where dreams could come true if you worked hard and believed enough in the dream. Part of that may have been Disney movies and I guess I believed the story. Just work hard. I remember a professor of mine told me, me talent would make room for me.She didn’t mention police brutality or the fact that black women were more likely to be killed, raped, abused etc. I wish I would have known because it was like a smack in the face after I graduated college.

Sandra Bland was driving to a new job and after being stopped for failing to signal on a turn she was arrested and “found” dead in her cell 3 days later. My first question is “when does failure to signal lead to an arrest?”. No one told me I lived in a police state. And it’s so exhausting! I have enough to worry about with student loans, paying rent, trying to make it in Hollywood. I don’t need the added exhaustion of police brutality.

I don’t know how to deal with it so I just talk to people about my frustrations and it makes me feel better…especially when its white people. Black people tend to be more abreast of the excessive police force so telling white people who don’t know makes me feel like I’m speeding knowledge. LOL. I’m sure it makes some of them uncomfortable but half of the time they are just as upset as I am and we end up having a great convo about where America came from and what we need to to do change it.

photo-2

In other news I’ve shot 99% of my new web series “In This Life”. Exciting! The next step is the editing process and we launch in September! Woohoo! I feel great about producing my own content and I really think its the right move for me. I still have so much to learn, but now I feel like I’m moving forward. i may be moving at snails pace, but I’m going to have evidence of what I’ve been doing in California for almost 2 years. My biggest fear is being in LA for 10 years and having nothing to show for it. I want to have a lot of work to show I’ve been working off my butt. I don’t want to look up one day and say to myself “what have I been doing”?. So I’m just focused on being stable and working on my craft. Currently I’m looking for a full time job. Producing films isn’t free! Even when its cheap, it ain’t free. People have to eat, we need gas, petty cash etc. So my plan is to create my own films and web series on the cheap that I can showcase online and eventually sell to people interested in my stories. I also want to build a collective of artist to write, act, producer, direct. I’ve already started, but I’m beginning to make it official. I would like to incorporate my company by Christmas or next spring the latest.

I ‘ve also decided I’m am going to put my energies into fighting for black women. I have realized that fighting for black men can be tiring and frustrating, especially when they don’t fight for you the way you fight for them. Everyone may not understand what I’m saying here, but thats okay. Black men can fight their own battles, so I’m going to let them do that. But Black women are the most disrespected, unprotected and attacked group in the world. We need to collectivize and create a circle of power for ourselves. Its very dangerous for us and I notice I am appreciated more by black women than black men. I still have love for black men, but I’m not putting myself on the line anymore. Its a little complicated.

Nydia

————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Solía creer que Estados Unidos era un encaje donde podría sueños si trabajaron duro y creía bastante en el sueño. Parte de puede haber sido películas de Disney y supongo que creía la historia. Sólo trabajo duro. Recuerdo que un profesor mío me dijo, me talento haría espacio para mí. Ella no mencionó brutalidad policial o el hecho de que las mujeres negras fueron más propensos a ser asesinados, violados, maltratado etc.. Ojalá que yo hubiera sabido porque fue como una bofetada en la cara después de que me gradué de la Universidad.

Sandra Bland conducía a un nuevo trabajo y después de ser detenido por incumplimiento de la señal en una vuelta que fue detenida y “encontró” muerto en su celda 3 días más tarde. Mi primera pregunta es “cuando falta para conducir a una detención de la señal?”. Nadie me dijo que vivía en un estado policial. Y es tan agotador! Tengo lo suficiente como para preocuparse con los préstamos estudiantiles, pago de alquiler, tratando de hacer en Hollywood. No necesito el agotamiento añadido de brutalidad policial. No sé cómo lidiar con él por lo que acaba de hablar a la gente sobre mis frustraciones y me hace sentir mejor… sobre todo cuando su gente blanca. Los negros tienden a ser más al corriente de la excesiva fuerza policial para que decirle a la gente blanca que no sé me hace sentir como que estoy acelerando el conocimiento. LOL. Estoy seguro algunos de ellos incomoda pero la mitad del tiempo son sólo tan molestos como yo y terminamos teniendo un gran convo sobre procedencia de América y lo que tenemos que cambiarlo.

Foto 2 en otras noticias he tirado el 99% de mi nueva serie web “En esta vida”. ¡ Emocionante! El siguiente paso es el proceso de edición y lanzamos en septiembre! Woohoo! Me siento muy bien acerca de mi propio contenido y realmente creo que es la decisión correcta para mí. Todavía tengo mucho que aprender, pero ahora siento que estoy avanzando. seré a caracoles ritmo, pero voy a tener evidencia de lo que he hecho en California por casi 2 años. Mi mayor temor es estando en los Ángeles por 10 años y no tener nada que mostrar. Quiero tener mucho trabajo para demostrar que he estado trabajando fuera de mi culo.

Nydia

Leave a Reply

