David Willinger was Right/David Willinger tenía Razón

I remember when I officially decided to move to LA. I was still in college and I told one of my Professors I would give LA a year and if I wasn’t successful, I would come back to New York. He quickly told me I should give it two years because some relationships would take longer to develop. He was right. As of today I have lived in LA for about a year and a half and met celebrities, lots of homeless people, actors who have been here for 8 years and are still doing background work, and a lot of hopefuls…

I’ve learned that relationships are the beginning and ending of everyone’s career. Gone are the days that showcases and raw talent gave you the keys to Hollywood. So, I’ve changed my techniques and instead of completely focusing on auditions and schmozzing with casting directors, I’ve decided to do more writing and producing. This way I can be the captain of my own ship. I’ve also learned that Producers and Distributors OWN Hollywood. We’ll, at least that’s how I feel from my vantage point. Filmmakers spend money, but Distributors make money because they sell films.

On set of a new fiI'm starring in called "After Prom".

On set of a new fiI’m starring in called “After Prom”.

In a year an a half I’ve gone from just auditioning to writing my own films, producing said films and starring in them. We’ll its just one film, but more are to come… 🙂 I’ve also set up a collective of young women in entrainment (producers, directors, actors, financiers) that want to connect share resources knowledge and experiences in the industry. I really think its important for women to have a place of solace since this industry can be so male-centric and unforgiving of women. Ie. The Sony hack happened and Amy Pascal stepped down while Micheal Lynton’s contract was extended and a man took her place. Its just my opinion. I’ve decide to create everything i want to see in this world. And I welcome others to join me.

LA is definitely a place that can suck the life out of you and it did that to me for a bit, but the struggle makes me tough. I welcome it. In 40 years I’ll be a billionaire with studios, schools and islands all over the world and I will have left a path for women and people of color worldwide to achieve their dreams. I may be taking the bus now, but its all worth it.

-Nydia

————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Recuerdo que cuando me he decidido oficialmente para mover a los ángeles. Yo todavía estaba en la universidad y le dije a uno de mis profesores me daría a LA un año y si yo no era feliz, volvería a Nueva York. Rápidamente me dijeron que debería darle dos años porque algunas relaciones se tardaría más tiempo en desarrollarse. Estaba en lo cierto. Hasta el día de hoy he vivido en los ángeles alrededor de un año y medio y se reunió las celebridades, muchas de las personas sin hogar, los actores que han estado aquí durante 8 años y sigue haciendo trabajo de fondo, y un montón de aspirantes…

He aprendido que las relaciones son el principio y el final de carrera de cada individuo. Se han ido los días en que exhibe y talento le dio las llaves de Hollywood. Por eso, he cambiado mis técnicas y, en lugar de centrarse en audiciones y conviviendo con directores de casting, he decidido hacer algo más por escrito y producción. Esta forma se puede ser el capitán de mi barco. También he aprendido que los productores y los distribuidores PROPIOS Hollywood. Trabajaremos , por lo menos eso es lo que siento desde mi punto de vista. Los cineastas gastar dinero, pero los distribuidores ganan dinero porque venden películas.

Myself and Sujata Day at the Writers Guild of America

Myself and Sujata Day at the Writers Guild of America West

En un año la mitad que he ido a la audición para escribir mis propias películas, produciendo dice films con en ellas. Le ayudaremos a una película, pero más por venir… 🙂 También he creado un colectivo de mujeres jóvenes de arrastre (productores, directores, actores, los financistas) que desea conectar compartir recursos conocimientos y experiencias en la industria. Yo realmente creo que es importante que las mujeres tengan un lugar de consuelo puesto que esta industria puede ser tan macho-centric e implacable de la mujer. Ie. La Sony hack ocurrido y Amy Pascal renunció al contrato de Michael Lynton se extendió y una hombre ocupó su lugar. es solo mi opinión. He decidido crear todo lo que quiero ver en este mundo. Doy la bienvenida y otros para que se unan a mí. LA es sin duda un lugar que puede succionar la vida de usted y que me de un poco, pero la lucha me hace difícil. Le doy la bienvenida. En los últimos 40 años seré un multimillonario con estudios, escuelas y todas las islas en el mundo y me han dejado un camino para la mujer y las personas de color en orden a alcanzar sus sueños. Puedo estar tomando el bus ahora, pero todo vale la pena.

-Nydia

Leave a Reply

