Merge Summit Recap: Revelations, New Places and Advice from Boris Kodjoe

Screen Shot 2014-08-24 at 10.48.31 PM 

This weekend I was super excited because I went to the Merge Summit. The Merge Summit is an annual Christian Conference that provides master classes, panels and workshops about producing, acting, and writing among a host of other things. But this conference merges faith and entertainment, which I love. Its great to be in an environment with strong Christians in the entertainment industry who wants to serve God, but also have a passion for acting, directing, music etc.

Some of the panelists included Devon Frankiln and Meaghan Goode, Commom, Endiya Kenny-sterns from OWN, Austyn Biggers from BET, Yvette Nicole Brown, Lynn Whitfield, Dondre Whitfield, Edwina Findley, Nate Parker and way more.

I met so many people I want to work with and I learned so much more about the industry in regards to pitching a show to a network. God also revealed a lot to me this weekend. Here are a couple things that really stayed with me.

 

  1. I’m exactly where I need to Be.

Boris Kodjoe was on a panel with the President of Screen Gems and he really spoke to me when he mentioned the high standards of younger people in this day in age. He talked about how reality tv makes 22 year olds millionaires and in turn every one else thinks they’re doing something wrong. I definitely feel this way sometimes, but God has me where I am for a reason. And I have to remember that God is sovereign and be grateful. 🙂

 

  1. Don’t X myself out of future opportunities

I didn’t realize I was x’ing myself out of opportunities. I always try to take advantage of opportunities that come my way…at least I think I do. By solely focusing on producing, I’m ignoring my passion for acting. I have to find a way to balance the two.

 

  1. The Plan is Working.

Last year, I had to consistent income and I didn’t even know where I would live the next month. I didn’t have much money in the bank and I still had to learn the basics of the industry. But, I had a plan. This year, I have a consistent job, mentors, money in the bank, and I still have a plan.

-Nydia 

————————————————————————————————————————————————–

Este fin de semana estaba súper emocionada porque yo fui a la Cumbre de fusionarse. La fusión Cumbre es un Christian Conference anual que proporciona clases magistrales, paneles y talleres de producción, actuando y escribiendo entre una multitud de otras cosas. Pero esta conferencia fusiona fe y entretenimiento, que me encanta. Su gran estar en un ambiente con cristianos fuertes en la industria del entretenimiento que quiere servir a Dios, pero también tienen una pasión por la actuación, dirección, música etc..

Algunos de los panelistas incluyeron Devon Frankiln y Meaghan Goode, Commom, Endiya Kenny-popas de propio, Austyn Biggers de apuesta, Yvette Nicole Brown, Lynn Whitfield, Dondre Whitfield, Edwina Findley, Nate Parker y forma más.

Conocí a tantas personas que quiero trabajar con y aprendí mucho más sobre la industria en lo que respecta a lanzar un programa a una red. Dios también mucho me revelaron este fin de semana. Aquí están un par de cosas que realmente se quedó conmigo.

Estoy exactamente donde necesito estar.
Boris Kodjoe estuvo en un panel con el Presidente de Screen Gems y realmente me habló cuando mencionó las expectativas de los jóvenes en este día de edad. Habló de cómo la realidad tv hace 22 años millonarios y a su vez más cada uno cree que están haciendo algo mal. Definitivamente me siento así a veces, pero Dios me tiene donde estoy por una razón. Y tengo que recordar que Dios es soberano y estar agradecidos. 🙂

No solo X fuera de las oportunidades futuras
No sabía que yo estaba x’ing de oportunidades. Siempre trato de aprovechar las oportunidades que ven mi camino… por lo menos creo que hago. Centrándose exclusivamente en la producción, estoy ignorando mi pasión por la actuación. Tengo que encontrar una manera de equilibrar los dos.

El Plan está funcionando.
El año pasado, tuve que ingresos constantes y no sabía donde viviría el próximo mes. No tengo mucho dinero en el banco y que todavía tenía que aprender los conceptos básicos de la industria. Pero tenía un plan. Este año, tengo un trabajo consistente, mentores, dinero en el banco, y todavía tengo un plan.

-Nydia

Leave a Reply

