My LAversary!

Family- cousins, aunt and dad in the pic Photo credit: Ezra Thorne : ezrathorne.com

 

 

Yesterday was my LAversary. Woot! woot! At first I wanted to do a little party to celebrate but with my new job all I want to do is sleep. But I did have dinner with some new friends in Culver City, which was fun.

Sometimes I feel bad because I don’t have much of a social life and I don’t see my family a lot. On one hand,  want to make sure I’m on track with my goals, but on the other I want to see family and friends more often. Its definitely a balance. I’ve been told that a social life can wait until I make it but I don’t want to miss moments i can get back. When a baby has grown, you can never get that time back. If you miss their baby years you just miss it. That’s why I try to be more intentional with my family and social life. I feel like a lot of people struggle with this in the industry. One of my friends told me he regretted not going to his best friends wedding because he was doing a play. Working in the industry can feel like a 24 hr job, but I think I’m going to follow these rules so I still have friends to hang out with once I’m rich and famous. 😉

1. Always go to your best friends wedding. You can miss a rehearsal or two. Or plan ahead.

2. If you have a baby sister/brother/niece make time to visit every 4-6 months if you can. You’ll never get that time back.

3. Be intentional about friendships. Hang out with your friends once a month. Even if its just for coffee/tea.

4. Don’t waste your time going t events/seeing people who you don’t like or don’t deserve your company. It takes away from your limited time. You could be hanging with your favorite cousin instead.

4. If friends and family are really far, set Skype/Facetime dates. You get to see their faces so its like their right there with you.

5, Try to make big family events so you see everyone in one shot. Weddings, Birthdays, First Communions, Funerals etc. This way to don’t have to go to sunday dinner every sunday.

-Nydia

————————————————————————————-
Ayer fue mi LAversary. Woot! Woot! Al principio que quería hacer una pequeña fiesta para celebrar pero con mi nuevo trabajo todo lo que quiero hacer es dormir. Pero yo tuve cena con nuevos amigos en Culver City, que fue divertido.

A veces me siento mal porque no tengo una vida social y no veo mucho a mi familia. Por un lado, quiero asegurarme de que estoy en camino con mis metas, pero en otros no quiero ver más a menudo a familiares y amigos. Su definitivamente un equilibrio. Me han dicho que una vida social puede esperar hasta que lo hago, pero no quiero desaprovechar momentos que puedo volver. Cuando un bebé ha crecido, nunca podrás ese tiempo atrás. Si echas de menos sus años bebé simplemente echas. Por eso trato de ser más intencional con mi familia y la vida social. Me siento como un montón de lucha del pueblo con esto en la industria. Uno de mis amigos me dijo que lamentaba que no va a sus mejores amigos porque estaba haciendo un juego de la boda. Trabajando en la industria puede sentirse como un trabajo de 24 horas, pero creo que voy a seguir estas reglas, así que todavía tengo amigos para pasar el rato con una vez que soy rico y famoso. 😉

1. siempre voy a tus mejores amigos de la boda. Te puedes perder un ensayo o dos. O planee con anticipación.

2. si usted tiene un bebé hermano/hermana/sobrina hacer tiempo para visitar cada 4-6 meses si se puede. Nunca obtendrá ese tiempo atrás.

3. ser intencional sobre amistades. Salir con tus amigos una vez al mes. Incluso si es sólo para el café/té.

4. no pierdas tu tiempo va eventos t / ver personas que no te gusta o no merezco tu empresa. Lleva lejos su tiempo limitado. Usted podría estar en su lugar con tu primo favorito.

4. si amigos y familiares están muy lejos, fijar fechas de Skype/Facetime. Puedes ver sus caras tan su como su ahí contigo.

5, tratar de hacer grandes eventos familiares así ves todos en una sola toma. Bodas, cumpleaños, primeras comuniones, funerales etc.. Así que no tienes que ir a cenar el domingo todos los domingos.

-Nydia

Leave a Reply

