Day 7- Four Unexpected Benefits of the Streets

Image

Today was a fun day. I went to Old Pasadena to collect donations and it was beautiful. It reminded me a little of New York because there were so many different types of stores and there were a lot of people on the streets. But it wasn’t what I expected. I thought people would be a tinge more friendly. It wasn’t the community I expected. I still like it and I’ll definitely be back. I met Shea Vandepoort (pictured above) while I was there! This was a big deal for me because he was the Director of this awesome webseries called “The Misadventures of an Awkward Black Girl”. Its soo funny you might pee on yourself. Check this first episode out here. Anyway we exchanged info and hopefully we’ll be working together soon! He also gave me a donation and dropped some serious producer knowledge on me. 

So I’ve noticed that going out collections donations has benefited me in so many ways I didn’t count on. 

1. Humility

It really takes a lot of courage to stand on the street and ask strangers for money. Especially when you aren’t a non profit. You’re asking them the invest in YOU. And it makes you feel vulnerable and it humbles you. You kinda have to throw all of your pride away.

2. Exposure

When people stop to talk to me I get to basically pitch myself, build and audience and connect with others on my path. I’ve met producers, attorney’s, fashion stylist’s, directors. etc. Usually you have to pay for mixers, but this way the people who WANT to connect with me get do that without having to pay for overpriced drinks. 

3. Confidence

I always thought of myself as I pretty confident person, yet this experience has made me more comfortable talking about myself and pitching myself to different people. 

4. Engagement

I complain a lot about being lonely but when I go out, I get to talk to people. Imagine that! I’m able to be social and not feel so alone in the city because I get to have conversations with other people. And sometimes I get to encourage them to follow their dreams!

 

This is a great journey and I’m learning so much. I think its time for another “What I’ve Learned Thus Far in LA Post”. Tomorrow.

Toodles!

-Nydia

————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Hoy ha sido un divertido día. Fui a Old Pasadena para recoger donaciones y fue hermoso. Me recordó un poco de Nueva York porque había muchos diferentes tipos de tiendas y había mucha gente en las calles. Pero no era lo que esperaba. Creo que la gente sería un matiz más amigable. No era lo que esperaba la comunidad. Me sigue gustando y definitivamente volveré. Conocí a Shea Vandeport mientras yo estaba allí. Esto era muy importante para mí porque era el Director de este impresionante webseries llamado ‘Las desventuras de un Awkward Black Girl’. Su tan gracioso puede mear sobre ti mismo. Compruebe este primer episodio aquí. De todos modos hemos intercambiado información y esperemos que nos estará trabajando juntos pronto! También me dio una donación y cayó algún conocimiento serio productor sobre mí.

Así que me he dado cuenta que saliendo las donaciones de colecciones me ha beneficiado en muchos sentidos no contaba con.

1. Humildad

Realmente se necesita mucho coraje para pararse en la calle y pedir dinero a los extraños. Especialmente cuando usted no es una sin fines de lucro. Les está pidiendo la inversión en ti. Y te hace sentir vulnerable y te humilla. Algo tienes que tirar de tu orgullo.

2. La exposición

Cuando la gente deja de hablar en público y yo que podré básicamente yo echada, construir y conectarse con otras personas en mi camino. He conocido a los productores, directores del fiscal, de estilista de moda. etc. Normalmente tienes que pagar para mezcladores, pero así la gente que quiere conectarse conmigo hacerlo sin tener que pagar caros tragos.

3. Confianza

Siempre pensé de mí mismo como lo bastante seguro de persona, sin embargo, esta experiencia me ha hecho más cómodo hablando de mí y yo mismo pitcheo para diferentes personas.

4. Compromiso

Me quejo mucho de estar sola, pero cuando salgo, voy a hablar con la gente. ¡ Imagínese eso! Soy capaz de ser social y no sentirme tan sola en la ciudad porque voy a tener conversaciones con otras personas. Y a veces me da animarlos a seguir sus sueños!

 

Este es un gran viaje y estoy aprendiendo mucho. Yo creo que a su vez por otro ‘lo que he aprendido hasta ahora en LA Post’. Mañana.

Adiós!

-Nydia

Leave a Reply

