Take the Damn Compliment.

I was talking to my Mom today and she proceeded to tell me about how proud all her friends and coworkers were of me. She says “they keep on saying she’s doing so well! She’s not into drugs, she doesn’t have kids. She’s on her own.” I immediately start to talk about how I have so much work to do, I’m unstable, I’m trying to do well for myself etc. Then I stop and I realize what I’m doing. Someone just tried to pat me on the back for doing well and I won’t accept it.  So I say thank you and I take the compliment.

Most people are super hard on themselves and outright REFUSE to take a compliment. How many times has a friend or stranger tried to tell you how great you are and you stop them to tell them 5-10 reasons why you actually suck? We’ve all done it, and its stupid and counterproductive. Because telling people reasons why you aren’t awesome doesn’t actually make you feel better. So I think we should all just take the damn compliment. If someone thinks you are great…LET THEM. Say thank you, and shut your trap. You deserve to be praised every once in a while.

Love ya!

Nydia

btw support my Indiegogo campaign! I’m determined to go to Cannes!

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/704468/enhance

 

Hoy hablé con mi mamá y ella procedió a contarme cómo orgulloso de todos sus amigos y compañeros de trabajo eran de mí. Ella dice “que sigues diciendo que está muy bien! No está en las drogas, no tiene hijos. Ella está en su propio. ” Inmediatamente empiezo a hablar de cómo tengo mucho trabajo que hacer, estoy inestable, estoy tratando de bueno para mí etc.. Entonces me paro y me doy cuenta de lo que estoy haciendo. Alguien intentó me palmaditas en la espalda para bien y no lo aceptaré. Entonces digo gracias y acepto el cumplido.

Mayoría de la gente es muy dura sobre sí mismos y se niega rotundamente a aceptar un cumplido. ¿Cuántas veces tiene un amigo o desconocido intentó decirle lo genial que eres y detenerlos para decirles que 5-10 razones por qué chupas en realidad? Todos hemos hecho y su estúpido y contraproducente. Porque diciendo a la gente razones por qué no eres genial no en realidad te hace sentir mejor. Así que creo que todos deberíamos tomar el maldito cumplido. Si alguien piensa que eres grande…DÉJALOS. Gracias y cierra la boca. Merece ser alabado de vez en cuando

Leave a Reply

