I. AM. SO. ANGRY.

Here’s why–> http://urbanintellectuals.com/2013/03/06/who-is-sara-baartman-every-black-woman-should-know-her-name/

You may have already known her name, but it really upsets me how black women of all ethnicities are treated just because of who they are and they’re bodies. Its so sad that black women have to exploit themselves and disrespect their bodies to get a dollar. As an actress I’ve turned down so many degrading roles that were specifically asking for women of color. And it really burns me when I see a great female role that says “caucasian only”. Why? Because black women aren’t strong, confident and classy? BS. I will never disrespect myself or compromise my legacy to get a role or a paycheck. My ancestors worked too hard for me to believe in my self worth as a woman and a woman of color. There is nothing wrong with big thighs or a big butt. Its beautiful. You should be proud to have them. I know I am. I don’t feel pressure to be skinny and thin. I don’t even desire that. The last time I was a size 0, I was 12. It will never happen again. I’m black and latina. My butt and thighs are here to stay. And even though I’m in an industry that glorifies skinny white women, I am determined to show women of color, especially little girls they don’t need to be skinny and white to be successful. You are innately beautiful. You just have to let it shine. It was always there.

Toodles.

Nydia

One thought on “I. AM. SO. ANGRY.

  1. Dikun Peace says:

    “And even though I’m in an industry that glorifies skinny white women, I am determined to show women of color, especially little girls they don’t need to be skinny and white to be successful. You are innately beautiful. You just have to let it shine. It was always there.”- this is beautiful

Leave a Reply

