12 Years a Slave and me having people

Today I saw a screening of the film “12 Years a Slave” and sat in for a Q & A with the directer (Steve McQueen), the screenwriter (John Ridley) and some members of the cast(Chiwetel Ejiofor,Lupita Nyong’o, and Alfre Woodard). I know…AMAZING! The film was soooo incredible and a great movie all around, cinematically, great writing, great acting. It’s a perfect movie. And tears were shed, but I felt good after. It was like Fruitvale Station where I cried and felt horrible for days. And the Q & A was just as great. The discussion was beautiful and after, I felt uplifted, inspired and so full of joy. I know BET will be broadcasting it so I’ll keep you posted so you can watch. You may see me in the audience.  😉

Image

 

I was homesick for a little while, but I realize I have people in LA. I’m not completely alone. The relationships I’ve made here may not be as close as the ones I have home, but they are good. And great friends take time. I saw the movie because a friend told me about the event.  So I’m going to be grateful for the friendships I’ve made and enjoy them!

Toodles! and check out 12 Years a Slave!

Leave a Reply

