Environment Counts

Today was an inspired day. I’m volunteering for the 2013 Merge Summit that is to be hosted at the Biltmore Hotel in Los Angeles. It is a conference that merges faith with entertainment. I’ll post a video about it later. I was so inspired and excited today because I realized this serving opportunity could actually advance my career and give me access to people I wouldn’t normally have access to. This is probably the biggest reason I moved to LA. I wanted to be in an environment where I did have access to people who could advance my carer. New York is a theatre heavy town and it can’t compete with LA when it comes to Film and Television production. It blew my mind the think of all the speakers and panelists that will be at the conference. From OWN Executives to Angela Basset. So many industry staples will be there and I’m excited to learn and connect from them.

Sometimes you have to change your environment in order to achieve your goal. For example, many women complain they can’t find a man. Yet they don’t change their environment. They go to work, then home and wonder why they can’t find a guy. Switch up your schedule. Go to an art gallery or a play. Change your environment and it may change your life. 

Leave a Reply

